The Peter Hinchcliffe Fiction Award

$1000 for one outstanding short story

Sponsored by the St Jerome’s University English Department

Deadline: May 28, 2020
June 15, 2020 at 11:59PM

This contest honours distinguished St Jerome’s University lecturer, Peter Hinchcliffe, who was instrumental in founding The New Quarterly and who served for many years as co-editor. His approach to teaching, as well as his personal charm and endearing sense of humour, had an enduring influence on both students and colleagues; this award recognizes Peter’s outstanding contributions to his home department.


  • A $1000 top prize will be awarded for one work of short fiction.
  • All entries will be considered for publication in The New Quarterly ($250 paid upon publication).
  • Entry fee: $40 per work of short fiction (includes a 1-year Canadian subscription or renewal to The New Quarterly).
  • Entrants’ anonymity will be preserved throughout the judging process.
  • Decisions will be posted by late August. Finalists will be notified ahead by email.


  • Entrants must not have published either a first novel or short story collection.
  • Entrants must be Canadian (citizen or resident).
  • Submissions must be unpublished, nor can they be accepted for publication elsewhere.
  • Submissions are accepted online only.
  • We also accept payment by cheque or credit card over the phone. Contact us at 519-884-8111 ext. 28290 or at info[at] for more information.

Formatting Guidelines

  • While there is no word limit to short fiction entries, most fall within the range of 2000 – 5000 words.
  • Kindly use 12-point font and use 1.5 spacing.
  • Include a word count at the end of your submission.
  • Include page numbers at the top right hand corner of your submission. Format page numbers as: “Page 1 of x.”
  • Submissions must be in .doc, .docx, .rtf, or .Pages format.
  • Do not include footnotes or Works Cited in your submission. If external sources are absolutely necessary to include, please reference them within the text.
  • Entrant’s name must not appear in the short fiction submission.
  • If names used in your story might reveal your identity, please use pseudonyms and make a note on your entry form; that way we can ask for real names should the piece go to publication.

Interviews with Past Winners

2019: Paola Ferrante for “The Underside of a Wing”
2018: Katie Zdybel for “The Last Thunderstorm Swim of the Summer”
2017: Shannon Blake for “The Mataram Miracle”
2016: Lisa Alward for “Old Growth”
2015: Sivan Slapak for “Road One”
2014: Alanna Marie Scott for “Maybe the World is Ending”

Please Note:

For serious budgetary and tax reasons, if you already have a subscription to The New Quarterly for the coming year, we ask that you kindly consider gifting the subscription included with your entry to a friend. By selecting “Gift My Subscription!” in the form below, you will make our accountants breathe a sigh of relief and introduce someone you know to The New Quarterly!

Submit your entry using the form below.

The Peter Hinchcliffe Short Fiction Award is now closed. The contest will reopen on September 1st.